top of page

Panic


In 9th grade I was taking Algebra 2. On the first problem of the first exam I drew a complete blank. I flipped through the exam and realized that if I couldn’t do that problem I couldn’t do any others either. Breathing became more difficult, my palms got sweaty, and I couldn’t really think straight - I knew I had to find a way out of the situation. In a moment of sheer genius I recalled how my teacher had made an offhand comment about her migraines a few weeks before. I went up to her desk and told her I, too, struggled with migraines and was in the midst of one now. She sympathized, as I had hoped she would, and sent me to the school nurse. While I was sitting on the school nurse’s bed and staring at the blank wall, what I had studied the night before suddenly came back to me and I knew I could return to class. I did and took the test and did just fine.

It was so easy to remember how to do the work when I felt I was safe, and I would have been hopeless had I stayed in class. My anxiety attack was one of the worst feelings I’ve ever had. Thankfully, I haven’t been in the same situation since, but others often are. Safety might not be easy to reach if it’s everyday life that triggers that same panic.


 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page